How to Get Car Registration in Colorado as a Current State Resident
If a current Colorado resident is asking, “How do I register my car,” there is only one answer to this question. Residents who need to complete a car registration must do so in person at the county motor vehicle office. Drivers may also ask, “What does registering my car involve,” and knowing the answer to this prior to arriving at the office can help make the motor vehicle registration process seamless. To successfully complete a CO DMV car registration, motorists will need to provide the certificate of title, a form of identification that adheres to Colorado’s secure and verifiable ID requirements, proof of insurance, and proof of having completed a Colorado vehicle emissions screening if the county requires the vehicle to pass an emission test.
Regarding the proof of insurance, the new car registration request may be denied or delayed if proper insurance coverage is not shown. Forms of insurance proof that are accepted as part of the registration of vehicle process include but are not limited to a Colorado insurance card, copy of the insurance policy, electronic proof of insurance and a letter from the insurance company on company letterhead. Additionally, only certain types of insurance policies are acceptable for a DMV car registration: vehicle specific, commercial, self insurance, blanket/operator, and owner/operator broad form. Once all new car registration documents have been gathered and processed, the owner must pay the registration fee as well as any other expenses that are rendered due to license plate selection or county-specific fees.
Get Car Registration in Colorado as a New Resident
If a driver just moved to Colorado, then he or she will not only have to complete a motor vehicle registration but also submit a Verification of Vehicle Identification Number form that has been completed by a state law enforcement officer, licensed motor vehicle dealer or a licensed emissions testing station. Once this is completed, before the car owner can complete a new car registration he or she must then convert the out-of-state title to a Colorado title. Once these steps are complete, then the new resident can start the DMV car registration process at the county motor vehicle office. If the new resident waited until after moving to Colorado to purchase a used or new car, then the standard process that current residents must adhere to for a registration of vehicle should be followed.
How long the driver has possessed the vehicle is not relevant. Additionally, new residents need to complete the CO registration of vehicle information once they move to the state, regardless of when the car came into the possession of the driver.
Timeline for Getting Car Registration in Colorado
The deadline for a resident to submit a motor vehicle registration in Colorado can depend on when the vehicle was obtained and if the resident just recently moved to the state, as well when a car was purchased. If a resident purchases a car in the state, then the resident must file a car registration within 60 days, regardless of if the vehicle is pre-owned or brand new. If a CO car registration is not filed, then the vehicle registration late fees can begin to accrue 61 days after the purchase date.
If a car owner has just recently made Colorado his or her new state of residence, then a DMV car registration needs to be filed with the appropriate county motor vehicle office within 90 days of the car owner becoming a resident. Otherwise, late fees may apply. Finally, if a car owner has resided outside of the United States but has recently returned, then he or she has 45 days to file the necessary car registration paperwork before late fees apply.
Transferring a Colorado Car Registration
You will need to transfer your car registration in Colorado if you intend to sell your vehicle to someone else. Transferring your car registration will essentially remove all traces of your ownership from the vehicle. The new car registration from then on will be in the name of the new owner of the vehicle, and in some cases, the old owner may even be able to receive credit for registration fees associated with an expired or cancelled registration. There is a transfer fee associated with this process.
Colorado Car Registration for Owners of Unused or Collector Vehicles
You do not need a new car registration in Colorado if you own certain types of vehicles. You do not need to complete the full car registration process if you own a collector’s vehicle or a vehicle that will not be used for a period of time. To get a car registration for a vehicle that will not be used for a set period of time, you must complete and submit an Affidavit of Non-Use. If you own a collector’s vehicle or a vehicle that will only be used for parts, then you will be required to pay a nominal registration fee each month. Your DMV car registration for a collector’s vehicle will expire after a period of 12 months and there is no grace period, so you must be sure to re-register on time.